Webinar: MPAs as part of the climate solution: The role of blue carbon – 26 October 2021

Presented by: Sara Hutto of the Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary

Date/Time: Tuesday, October 26, 1 pm US EDT/10 am US PDT/5 pm UTC

Description: Well-managed marine protected areas (MPAs) protect valuable blue carbon habitats and processes, and they must be included in global and national mitigation and adaptation responses to climate change. Coastal and marine ecosystems play a significant role in the global carbon cycle – sequestering and storing carbon over long timescales. This presentation will review the latest science on oceanic and coastal carbon sequestration, raise awareness of the critical importance of the role these systems play, and highlight guiding principles for MPA managers to improve their understanding and management of blue carbon. To demonstrate application of these ideas, a case study from Greater Farallones National Marine Sanctuary in California will be presented, along with lessons learned and next steps.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO (MPA News, OpenChannels, EBM Tools Network)

For registration to the event, follow this link.

via OCTO
Have any news or opportunity in ocean sciences to share? Send it to info_at_nf-pogo-alumni.org