Webinar: Mud matters: Understanding the role of ocean sediments in storing carbon – 15 February 2024, Online

Webinar: Mud matters: Understanding the role of ocean sediments in storing carbon

Presented by: Sara Hutto of the Greater Farallones Association and Greater Farallones and Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuaries and Doug George of NOAA

Date/Time: Thursday, February 15, 1 pm US EST/10 am US PST/6 pm UTC

Description: The sediments of the vast ocean floor represent the world’s largest non-fossil pool of organic carbon, yet they are not well-studied or protected. The carbon in these sediments can remain stored for thousands to millions of years; however, activities such as mining, oil and gas exploration, and bottom-contact fishing can disturb sediment, resuspending it into the water column and potentially remineralizing carbon into aqueous CO2. Current understanding of marine sediment carbon along the US West Coast is limited, constraining meaningful management and protection of these critically important carbon sinks. The Greater Farallones Association, in partnership with NOAA Office for Coastal Management (OCM) and NOAA’s Greater Farallones and Cordell Bank National Marine Sanctuaries, conducted the first systematic evaluation of marine sedimentary carbon stocks in North-central California. This webinar will discuss the importance of marine sediments in global carbon sequestration and storage. It will also present the results of this study, including an estimate of the carbon stock within the Sanctuaries’ marine sediments and identification of carbon “hot-spots” on the seafloor based on a novel spatial model of carbon density.

Hosted by: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO

Register here.

via OCTO
Have any news or opportunity in ocean sciences to share? Send it to info_at_nf-pogo-alumni.org
Share with your networks
Scroll to Top