Webinar: Learning Tide: Ocean Decade Series with ECOP & SOA – 25 April 2023, online

ECOPs would like to invite you to the first episode of their joint Early Career Ocean Professionals and Sustainable Ocean Alliance (ECOP-SOA) regional webinar series, titled: “Learning Tide: Ocean Decade Series with ECOP & SOA – Young leaders reimagine a clean ocean without plastic pollution in Asia.”

This webinar series is part of SOA’s Contribution to the UN Decade of Ocean Science ECOP Programme, which aims to harness and connect regional networks, share information about the UN Ocean Decade, and discuss how we can collectively contribute to specific Ocean Decade Goals. The webinar will be moderated by Raphael Roman, our ECOP Asia coordinator, and MJ Lamoste, SOA’s Southeast Asia Regional Representative.

Please join next week on Tuesday 25 April at 2pm CET / 8pm Manila time / 9pm Tokyo time as they dive into plastic pollution in Asia with guest speakers from the Myanmar Ocean Project, a non-profit organization that focuses on removing fishing gear that found its way into the ocean, and SecondMuse, an impact and innovation company that runs an incubation network to tackle ocean plastic waste in South and Southeast Asia.

The webinar will be honored by the presence of Prof. Dato’ Dr. Aileen Tan Shau Hwai, the first vice chairperson of the IOC Sub-Commission for the Western Pacific (WESTPAC) and current Director of the Centre for Marine and Coastal Studies at Universiti Sains Malaysia, who will introduce us to the UN Ocean Decade and discuss ways for young ocean leaders and ECOPs in Asia to get involved.

Register for the webinar here.

via ECOPs
Have any news or opportunity in ocean sciences to share? Send it to info_at_nf-pogo-alumni.org
Share with your networks
Scroll to Top