Webinar: Do MPAs matter for climate change mitigation and adaptation? – 17 January 2023

Presented by: Joachim Claudet of the French National Center for Scientific Research

Date/Time: Tuesday, January 17, 11 am US EST/8 am US PST/5 pm CET/4 pm UTC

Description: Marine protected areas (MPAs) are increasingly being promoted as an ocean-based climate solution. These claims are controversial, however, because the literature on the climate benefits of MPAs is diffuse and poorly synthesized. To address this knowledge gap, we conducted a systematic literature review of 22,403 publications spanning 241 MPAs and analyzed these across 16 ecological and social pathways through which MPAs could contribute to climate change mitigation and adaptation. Our meta-analysis found that marine conservation can significantly enhance carbon sequestration, coastal protection, biodiversity, and the reproductive capacity of marine organisms as well as fishers’ catch and income. Most of these benefits are only achieved in fully or highly protected areas and increase with MPA age. This webinar will present these results and discuss the extent to which MPAs can be a useful tool for mitigating climate change and adapting social-ecological systems.

Hosts: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO

Register following this link.

via OCTO
Have any news or opportunity in ocean sciences to share? Send it to info_at_nf-pogo-alumni.org