EBM Tools Network Webinar: Building Ecologically Connected MPA Networks, 14 October

The EBM Tools Network is pleased to announce that it will co-host:

 

Webinar: Connecting Our Blue Planet: Building Ecologically Connected Marine Protected Area Networks

Presented by: Gary Tabor of the Center for Large Landscape Conservation, Barbara Laussche of Mote Marine Laboratory, Zachary Cannizzo of NOAA, and J. Wilson White of Oregon State University

Date/Time: Wednesday, October 14, 10am US EDT/7am US PDT/2 pm UTC

Description: The interconnectedness of the ocean is one of its defining characteristics. This ability of species and processes to move and flow from place-to-place, called ecological connectivity, is increasingly recognized as a key aspect of successful marine conservation. Two recent reports highlight the importance of both protecting and leveraging connectivity conservation for successful MPA management. Both the IUCN “Guidelines for conserving connectivity through ecological networks and corridors” and the National MPA Center brief “Ecological Connectivity for Marine Protected Areas” make the case for ecological connectivity and provide practical recommendations for moving marine conservation forward by increasing consideration and application of fundamental ecological connectivity processes. This webinar will provide an overview of these reports and serve to stimulate discussions and actions that lead to greater protection of ecological connectivity as part of marine conservation.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center, IUCN WCPA Conservation Connectivity Specialist Group, and OCTO (MPA News, OpenChannels, EBM Tools Network)

Register: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/597531103322374926

 

via EBM Tools Network
Have any news or opportunity in ocean sciences to share? Send it to info_at_nf-pogo-alumni.org